Posted by: Aaron McCarter | November 7, 2008

Thoughts on Calvinism, Book Review: Chosen by God, R.C. Sproul

I just finished reading Chosen by God, by R.C. Sproul.  It’s a great book.  A seriously great book!  It wasn’t entirely what I expected, but it was nonetheless better than what I expected.

I have a million thoughts to share (some still unsorted), but I’ll simply share two of them:

  1. As I’ve said many times before, I almost always agree with the Calvinists.  It’s a beautiful and brilliant theological construct.
  2. Even after reading a brilliant presentation of it’s principles, I remain troubled that Calvinism embraces some mysteries and rejects others.  Granted, competing doctrines do the exact same thing (more so, actually)…but I’m not swearing allegiance to them either.

Forgive my lack of orthodoxy, but I suppose I’ll cling to my own tattered hybrid version that’s full of holes and shortcomings–because I refuse to plug those holes with answers I don’t yet have.

Leave a Reply

Categories

