Posted by: Aaron McCarter | October 29, 2008

S.O.A.P. / Defining Sin

what is S.O.A.P.?

This week several things stood out in SOAP-but none more than a single sentence from today’s reading: Romans 14:23, For whatever does not proceed from faith is sin.

A lot of effort has been taken to define sin.  I’ve put some thought into it myself.  Seems a bit silly now, really.  Paul gave us one. Sin is whatever does not proceed from faith.

I’m not sure how I’ve missed this my whole life.  I suppose it’s because this chapter always gets me pondering ‘disputable matters’–I’m always thinking doctrine when I read Romans 14, not theology.

So I’ll be putting some thought and some self-evaluation into this.  Sin is whatever does not proceed from faith.  Any action (or inaction) that isn’t the result of the fact that I trust Jesus, is sin.  My head’s spinning.  Good spinning. Pirouetting, I suppose.


Responses

  1. I just laughed out loud at the “pirouetting” comment.


Leave a Reply

Categories

