Posted by: Aaron McCarter | October 28, 2008

“…I was looking back to see”

I’m so thankful for my Dad.  As I was growing up he used to sing his own version of an old song:

I was looking back to see
If she was looking back to see
If I was looking back to see
If she was looking back at me

That memory popped into my head this morning, seemingly out of nowhere.  Made me smile.  He would sing it and laugh.  Good stuff.

Here’s the thing, I used to hear him sing that tune and then, almost invariably, I would stop and work through it in my mind.  “Does that even make sense?”   I was about 4…and it was mind-numbing for me.  I’d work it out though, and every time I decided that it did make sense.  Those people may have been a bit paranoid, but the song made sense.

It made me think about how much I hung onto every word my Dad said.  And, predictably, that made me think about how I’m a Dad now.  Then it made me think about whether or not I wanted my son to hang on to all of the stuff that I say.

My conclusion: “uh, no.”  Sobering moment.

Leave a Reply

Categories

