Posted by: Aaron McCarter | January 25, 2008

The year of the Sapphire…

Today is my five year wedding anniversary.  Five years!  I’ll venture not to be too sappy with this, but I’m going to take a moment and talk about my wife, Sharon.

There are lots of things that can be said about her…she’s beautiful and godly and funny, and the whole Proverbs 31 package.  But what I’ve recently been most taken by, is that she’s pleasant.

Yeah, that’s right, wonderfully pleasant.  In fact, my wife is unbelievably pleasant!

Nearly every morning I get up well before she does…inevitably I wake her up getting ready.  There’s no grunting or whining about turning off the lights or how I need to keep it down. No, she sits up with squinted eyes and disheveled hair, and smiles as big as she can, with arms extended, looking for a hug. I invariably apologize for waking her up, and she (still smiling) invariably says that she’s glad that I did.  And the fact that she’s 9 months pregnant (meaning she has to get up several times a night, she can’t sleep the way she’d like to, and who knows what it does to her hormones) hasn’t changed any of that one bit.  It’s not a mood or feeling…it’s just who she is.  She’s pleasant!

When I come home, I’m welcomed.  But not just any welcome.  If she took it one step further, there’d be confetti involved.  It hasn’t decreased as we’ve been together, or faded in it’s intensity…because it’s not a phase, it’s who she is.

We work together.  Our offices are connected, and for me to ever walk in or out of my office, I have to walk through hers.   For most that would be very annoying (I’m hyper, too…so it happens all the time)…but it’s not to Sharon.  At the very least I get a smile and a wave every time I walk by…but hugs are kisses are the norm.

Maybe all of this makes you want to vomit.  That’s OK.  I delight in it.

By the way, you might get the wrong idea from the picture I’m painting here.  You might be getting the idea that she’s overly emotional or air-headed or clingy.  If so, you’re definitely getting the wrong picture!  She’s not any of those things.  In fact, she’s brilliant, and tough, and fully capable of standing on her own two feet.  She even-keeled and sharp and she’s a fantastically gifted leader!  I don’t know who you are (I can’t tell who reads this…), but I know she’s smarter than you!

But she doesn’t know that.  She’s incredibly humble.  All pleasant people are.

She’s still human.  She has tough times, and low points.  She’s not numb to discouragement or disappointment.  But even then, believe it or not, she’s always pleasant.   Seriously, always!  It’s who she is.  And I get to live with her and work with her everyday of my life.  My pleasant life.  Thanks to her.

I can’t wait to see how she loves our son!  Bryce is extremely blessed…because he will grow up in a pleasant home.  You can’t measure the value of that.

Sharon, if you’re reading this…you’ll never know what it means to me.  Happy anniversary.

Responses

  1. Congratulations! I am so happy for you! I told Sharon yesterday that you two are an inspiration. Bryce is doubly blessed because he has a father who knows his mother’s worth. God bless you three.


Leave a Reply

Categories

